6 Degrees of Separation

I am a firm believer in 6 degrees of separation, the belief that everyone in the world is connected to everyone else in the world by at most 6 people. It was evident when I was traveling in Eastern Canada and it was evident tonight at ball. In small town Saskatchewan everyone knows everyone, and when you move to either Regina or Saskatoon, you still run into those people OR people who know those people.

Going to visit my boyfriend, I ran into a friend’s mom randomly, couple hundred kilometres from where I grew up. We ended up on the same bus and had a nice chat.

Got recruited to play ball last night on a team where I knew 1 person. I ended up knowing half the team just by association, mostly through growing up in the same small town as cousins and co-workers.

What I love the most of this phenomenon is that it is mostly evident in small town situations. My friend from Calgary just doesn’t get it when I run into someone from home because if a town is that small, the dispersal rate should be so high that no one should run into anybody after you get a certain distance from town. This amazes her, even though I did not grow up that far out of Saskatoon. You’d think with Facebook this phenomenon would be so much easier to track.

One thought on “6 Degrees of Separation

  1. Ms. Awesome May 30, 2013 / 9:33 pm

    I would like to comment that I have since updated my stance on the surprise factor. It has since occurred to me that Saskatchewan only has a finite number of large cities, and even the large cities here are actually the size of medium or small cities in other provinces. THEREFORE, it can be assumed that 1) there are only a limited number of cities people can migrate to, and 2) the chances of running into each other *here* is likely greater than the chances of the same happening in a large metropolitian hub, like Toronto or Vancouver.
    I REST MY CASE. MS. AWESOME SIGNING OUT.

Leave a Reply

