Homage to Spring

“It’s not that cold.”

My first thought as I haul two kitchen chairs out onto my deck.

I’d say it is probably around +2°C or +3°C.

Besides the odd breeze, the night is calm as I look out over the drive, into the graveyard that sits across from my building. I can hear the distance traffic from Halifax’s Bicentenial Highway, or bi-hi.

I run in and grab a woolen lap quilt and Alden’s oversized woolen slippers. Perfect for the chilly night.

I settle into the hard wooden chair for my night of bliss: my e-reader, CBC Jazz Masters and the fresh spring air.

Even as I tentively bring my foot out from under the brown wool, the breeze is softer and cooler than the harsh, biting winds of winter.

Even though it’s midnight, I’ll be here for a while. Well, or at least until my battery dies.

Good night from Halifax.

Leave a Reply

