Life Without Kids

So I am 27.

Career focused and in a wonderful relationship that allows for this.

Being my age, I also have a lot of friends who are at the point of having kids.

Thanks to Facebook, I get to see all these happy people and their beautiful children, many whom I love.

And shows me what I am missing.

Thank you, Facebook for showing me all the pregnancy pictures, hospital photos, endless baby pictures. Then you have the walking, pooping and sickness statuses.

I can tell my women friends are happy. That is evident in these endless posts since they wouldn’t be doing it if they weren’t happy.

My boyfriend and I have talked about it and we want kids. My boyfriend also wants me to concentrate on becoming the best journalist I can be. So why do I let the endless posts about babies and spit-up make me question that.

It also makes me wonder, can I have both.

I see a future of traveling to interesting places and talking to interesting people.

Can I become the best journalist I can be while also being the best parent I can be. Will my best be enough on either fronts?

2 thoughts on “Life Without Kids

  1. Rookienotes December 31, 2014 / 11:55 pm

    Sure, you can have both. You just have to prioritize.

  2. Relinquished Reversal January 1, 2015 / 1:22 am

    No, you can’t. If you travel for work your children will always be the ones left behind. They will have feelings of abandonment and look for acceptance for the rest of their life in all the wrong places. This is well documented in psychological literature. Thankfully, at 27 you don’t have to make this decision today. You can freeze your eggs, make the decision later, and have both that way. If you try to do both at the same time, and you miss your child’s recital for anything, they will notice. Children are underdeveloped adults, they notice everything. Their brains will be wired with the experiences they are exposed to in youth. You will eventually have to pick one and put it first. This is a reality, not naivety.

Leave a Reply

