#LetsTalk

I’ve never been diagnosed with depression, bipolar or any other mental illness.

I know what anxiety feels like but it doesn’t ruin my life. I am just learning now what this feels like and how to deal with it.

But this day is not for me. I can talk about how I feel. I know how my mental health affects the rest of my life.

My sister has been diagnosed with bi-polar, depression and learning disorders.

But this day is not for her either. She’s worked at South Saskatchewan Independent Living Centre in Regina and volunteered at the Canadian Mental Health Association. She doesn’t shy away from talking about how her life has been effected by her mental health. She embraces her life, writes about, wants to public speak about it.

I know many people on both sides of the spectrum.

I can never fully understand how my sister lives, nor will I understand how other members of my family stigmatize those who need help.

Lets Talk is not about understanding someone but about not judging someone even when you can’t understand what they are going through.

#LetsTalk is about breaking the stigma, helping people learn what mental health is all about and how it can effect their own lives, whether it’s their own health or the health of a family member.

If you need help, don’t be afraid to come forward and say it.

Everyone needs help and no one should treat you any differently for admitting it.

2 thoughts on “#LetsTalk

  1. Cheryl-Lynn February 3, 2015 / 10:08 am

    What do you mean? I don’t know how she lives. Day to day, Baby!

Leave a Reply

