There is no body shaming Fat Amy

I fell in love with Rebel Wilson in the first Pitch Perfect.

The first time you meet her, she is smart, confident and awesome. Just hearing her say the line about why she calls herself Fat Amy is perfect.

Aubrey: You call yourself Fat Amy?

Fat Amy: Yeah, so twig bitches like you don’t do it behind my back

Then I watched the second one and I was just as blown away.

Thank you, Rebel and the writers of the movie for such a kick ass character.

Fat Amy: Would you like some of my confidence because I could tone mine down a notch.

When it comes to love, talent, and living life, never do you hear the words, “I’m too fat to deserve any of that,” and I have heard that before in movies and TV shows.

Spoiler Alert for anyone who hasn’t seen the movie yet but there is a part where she turns down a certain someone when he suggests they be boyfriend/girlfriend.

Instead you hear about how much of a free spirit she is and how she can’t be tied down.

Fat Amy: I can’t be tied down by anything. I’m on a walkabout. I’m a free-range pony that can’t be tamed (makes trotting noises). I’m like a firework (pew pew). I can’t be tied down.

There is no question how awesome this character is and there is no even though she is fat to add on to that. Questions about confidence as a fat women are more condescending than reporters realize, like they are daring them to be confident even though they are “fat”.

Grow up, world. Fat is not the worst thing a person can be and society needs to realize this.

Leave a Reply

