Saskatchewanderer 2018

After years of wanting to apply but never feeling my application ideas were good enough, I have finally produced my first Saskatchewanderer application video:

I first heard about the job back in its first year in 2011 when they were just looking for someone to drive around Saskatchewan with their own vehicle and blog about their adventures for a few months as a summer position.

Since I did not have my own vehicle I was not eligible then and then I moved to Nova Scotia; not exactly a good thing for my Saskatchewanderer prospects.

I have my Bachelors of Journalism from the University of King’s College. While living in Nova Scotia, my heart was always in Saskatchewan and everyone knew and remembered where I was from the first time they met me.

It was a weird feeling to be straddling the country; one foot at home and the other on the east coast.

While I love to travel and I have been to every province in Canada, there is no place like home.

We rarely think of travel within our own province as an option

photo courtesy of Ray Whittonbut that is what the Saskatchewanderer is all about.

But I have worked as Saskatchewan cheerleader and promoter for a while now already.

My job as the editor of the Humboldt Journal and East Central Trader has meant being the Humboldt-wanderer for the past two years.

I have had to defend Saskatchewan to everyone I meet outside this gorgeous province so besides the year long road trip, I was a Saskatchewanderer long before I applied for the job.

We have 28 provincial parks and three national ones.

We have music and culture festivals all across the province.

We have industries that are thriving and a northern beauty that is wild and unseen, at least by me. I need to go more north than Prince Albert.

The position is about showing off what the province has to offer.

But I want to make it about so much more.

While I have grown up in Saskatchewan, there is plenty that I have not done and plenty I want to try.

Greenwing Days in Humboldt, 2015

There is also the fact that so many musicians, authors, actors, painters, crafters, and other professionals that have not had a chance to be profiled.

There is also the fact that these travel opportunities and the different communities are there because someone believes in them. I want to give back to these communities by donating time and energy to the many great causes around the province.

This has been my dream job for a while. I’m so happy that I finally have a chance to work for it.

Leave a comment